Slow and Steady Wins the Race

It feels like only recently that I was packing my bags, driving across the country, and making stops at funny, Midwestern, side-of-the-road attractions on my way to start my internship at Best Friends Animal Society. Six weeks ago?  Surely it was only six days ago!

In my first blog entry, I commented about my high-speed train to change. I realize now, this is not the case. I did make a lot of decisions in a short amount of time, but it turns out, change is slow. At least for me, it is going to involve a challenging series of changes that will require me to stay outside of my comfort zone for longer than I might like. My time at Best Friends was an incredibly valuable experience, but the end of the internship is really only the beginning of my change.

Slow and steady wins the race

Now that I’m back, I’m left with a difficult feeling. Now what? How do I harness my experience and motivation to continue to make changes and not fall back into the comfort and security of a more stable and familiar life? Although my internship is over, I will continue my adventure and make progress toward my goal of a career in animal welfare and humane education. I hope that means I will continue to have things to blog about!

Thanks to everyone for all of your love and support, and I hope you will continue to follow my progress and my blog!

A bonus of my internship was the opportunity to meet some incredible people! These were the other interns in my group - Markus, Kaila, Nick, Leah, Katie, and Nini.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

